Samir Mohanty elected unopposed as Odisha BJP chief

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJP leader Samir Mohanty was elected unopposed as the President of BJP’s Odisha unit today. During a function at the party’s State headquarters in Bhubaneswar, the party leadership announced Samir’s election as the Chief of BJP Odisha. Among others, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Narendra Singh Tomar, BJP national Vice President Baijayant Panda and Odisha in-charge Arun Singh were present in the programme.

Earlier on the day, no other party leader except Samir had filed nominations for the election to the post.

Prior to this, Samir has been working as Vice President of BJP’s Odisha unit since 2016.

Samir joined student politics when he became the joint secretary of ABVP Bhubaneswar City unit in 1977. He then became General Secretary of PN College, Khurda as an ABVP candidate.

He later became State Vice President of ABVP, Odisha in 1980.

Samir joined the Bharatiya Janata Yuba Manch in 1983 and became State General Secretary of the organization the next year.
While working as an Assistant Information Officer in the Bhubaneswar Development Authority (BDA) during 1985-95, he was elected as President of the BDA Employees’ Union.

After resigning from the government service in 1995, Samir was appointed as Vice-president, BJP Bhubaneswar Dist.

Samir was in overall charge of the party’s media activities, including organising workshops and training programmes for the party workers during 2002-2009.

In 2003, he successfully contested elections for the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation and held the position of Chairman, Finance and Taxation Standing Committee. He was also nominated as President of the State Co-operative Housing Corporation Ltd.

He occupied the post of President of the Orissa Khadi and Village Industries Board earlier.

Also Read

Comments are closed.