Three laureates share Nobel Prize in Physics 2021

Bhubaneswar: Three laureates shared this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for their studies of chaotic and apparently random phenomena.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi for the year 2021.

The trio was selected for the prestigious award “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems”, a release of The Nobel Prize stated today.

While senior Meteorologist of Princeton University, USA, Syukuro Manabe and Professor Klaus Hasselmann of Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg, Germany were awarded “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”, Professor Giorgio Parisi, the scientist of Sapienza University of Rome, Italy, was rewarded “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”.

This year’s Prize recognises new methods for describing them and predicting their long-term behaviour, the released said.

Also Read

Comments are closed.