Odisha-born researcher wins coveted Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards

Bhubaneswar: Altogether 12 young scientists from across the country have been selected for the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards for the year 2022.

Researcher Dipti Ranjan Sahoo, a native of Odisha, has been selected for the coveted awards in the engineering category.

Sahoo is now working as a Professor of Structural Engineering in the Department of Civil Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Delhi. He is also holding the post of Associate Dean (Infrastructure) at the institute.

Prior to joining IIT-Delhi in 2010, Sahoo had worked as Assistant Professor in the School of Infrastructure at IIT Bhubaneswar for six months.

Sahoo had obtained Bachelor degree in Civil Engineering from Indira Gandhi Institute of Technology under Utkal University in Odisha in 2001. He was the gold medalist of his batch.

Sahoo did Master’s degree in Structural Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Kanpur in 2003. He was awarded Doctorate degree in Civil Engineering by the same institute in 2008.

Sahoo has expertise in structural engineering, earthquake engineering and structural fire engineering, sources said.

He is a fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers (UK), Institute of Engineers (India) and Indian Society of Earthquake Technology.

Sahoo has published more than 250 research articles in the areas of earthquake and structural fire engineering among others. He has also penned a book and supervised many students in their Doctoral and Master’s degree theses.

The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) provides Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards, named after its first Director General, every year in seven scientific disciplines—Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Medicine, Engineering, and Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences—to outstanding researchers under the age of 45.

The award carried a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh.

Also Read

Comments are closed.