Bhakta Das resigns from Odisha Congress Campaign Committee’s Chairman post

Bhubaneswar: After the Congress’ poll debacle in Odisha, Bhakta Charan Das resigned from the Chairman post of Campaign Committee of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee.

The senior Congress leader tendered his resignation to AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge taking moral responsibility of the party’s failure both in the Assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Odisha.

“I take the moral responsibility of failure to get the expected number of seats both in Assembly and Parliament elections in Odisha,” Das wrote in the resignation letter.

Bhakta Das was appointed as the Chairman of the Campaign Committee of Odisha Congress on March 22. He fought the Assembly polls from Narla against BJD’s Manorama Mohanty and BJP’s Aniruddha Padhan. However, he lost to BJD candidate with a margin of 5205 votes.

On the other hand, Congress was slipped to 3rd position in Assembly with gaining only 14 seats in the state election, retaining one Lok Sabha seat in the parliament.

Also Read

Comments are closed.