2024 polls in Odisha: Chandra Sekhar Sahu appointed as chairman of BJD manifesto committee

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today appointed Berhampur MP Chandra Sekhar Sahu as the chairman of BJD manifesto committee for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Odisha.

The BJD supremo also made Sahu a state vice-president of the ruling party.

“Party president and CM Naveen Patnaik has appointed Chandra Sekhar Sahu, Lok Sabha member (Berhampur), as state vice-president of Biju Janata Dal and Chairman of BJD Manifesto Committee with immediate effect,” said the ruling party in a Twitter (X) post today.

Sahu was elected to the Lok Sabha from Berhampur seat on a BJD ticket in 2019.

Sahu had begun his political career in Congress party. He had won the Lok Sabha polls from Berhampur seat in 2004 and was appointed as Union Minister of State for Rural Development under Manmohan Singh government at the centre from 2004-2009.

Sahu, as Congress candidate, had been defeated by BJD nominee Sidhant Mohapatra from Berhampur in 2009 and 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

He had joined the ruling BJD in Odisha ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Also Read

Comments are closed.