All about Odisha Governor designate Raghubar Das

Bhubaneswar: Raghubar Das, who was appointed as the new Governor of Odisha, had served as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand from 2014 to 2019.

He became the first non-tribal Chief Minister of the neighbouring state.

Das was elected to the Bihar Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1995. He won the seat five times before becoming the Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

He was the Deputy Chief Minister of Jharkhand for a brief period from December 30, 2009 to May 29, 2010.

Das’ ancestors were originally from the region which now comes under Chhattisgarh. However, he was born in Jamshedpur on May 3, 1955.

Das got BSc and LLB degrees from a college in Jamshedpur before joining Tata Steel.

Das took part in the students’ agitation in undivided Bihar in 1974. He was arrested during the Emergency in India from 1975 to 1977.

He began his political career from Janata Party in 1977. Later, he joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as its founding member in 1980.

Das was appointed as BJP Jharkhand unit chief in 2004. He served as the Urban Development Minister of the state in Chief Minister Arjun Munda’s Cabinet in 2005.

Das was defeated from Jamshedpur East Assembly segment in 2019 Assembly elections. The BJP too lost power in Jharkhand.

Later, Das was appointed as the national vice-president of BJP. Das (68) will succeed Ganeshi Lal as the Governor of Odisha.

Also Read

Comments are closed.