Balasore Sadar bypoll: Congress, BJD candidates file nomination

Balasore: Congress and BJD candidates today filed nomination for the upcoming bypoll to the Balasore Sadar assembly constituency in Odisha.

Congress nominee Mamata Kundu filed her nomination paper in the presence of the Returning Officer. Senior Congress leaders Navajyoti Patnaik and Sudarshan Das were also present on the occasion.

Similarly, BJD candidate Swarup Kumar Das filed nomination paper in the presence of party’s district president Rabindra Jena, observer Pratap Jena, senior leaders Samir Ranjan Dash, Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi, and Debi Mishra.

Worth mentioning, BJP candidate Manas Kumar Dutta, son of former Balasore Sadar MLA late Madan Mohan Dutta, had filed his nomination yesterday. The assembly seat is all set to witness a triangular contest between the three candidates.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the demise of Madan Mohan Dutta in June this year.

The election is scheduled to be held on November 3.

Also Read

Comments are closed.