Former Kakatpur MLA Surendra Sethi quits BJD

Puri: Surendra Sethi, former legislator from Kakatpur Assembly constituency segment, quitted ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today. He resigned from primary membership of the party and tendered his letter written in this regard to BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik.

The former MLA was the State Council Member of BJD before his resignation. He was elected as Kakatpur MLA in 2014 on a BJD ticket. Aspirant Sethi resigned from BJD after the ruling party denied him a ticket this time and Tusharkanti Behera was fielded for the upcoming simultaneous polls.

Worth mentioning, in the 2019 General Elections, Sethi had lobbied for a ticket but Behera was fielded as MLA candidate from Kakatpur constituency. Sethi had continued to support the ruling party despite the denial of a ticket. However, he decided to quit as he was allegedly ignored again.

Former legislator from Karanjia Assembly constituency segment Bijay Kumar Naik also resigned from BJD, earlier in the day.

Also Read

Comments are closed.