Odisha Elections 2024: Two polling officials suspended

Bhubaneswar: With the voting began for 4 parliamentary constituencies and 28 assembly seats in first phase of general elections in Odisha today, two polling officials were suspended so far.

Two polling officials one Tejansu Saha engaged at a polling booth in Narla under Kalahandi Lok Sabha Constituency and another namely Manas Ranjan Sethy in Berhampur were suspended.

Reports said that Sethy was appointed as the presiding officer at polling station no.74 under Chikiti Assembly Constituency where a clash between BJP and BJD supporters erupted during voting in the morning. He was placed under suspension with immediate effect under 34 of the Representation of People’s Act 1951 for breach of poll duty.

The action has been taken against two polling officials for dereliction of their duty, informed Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Nikunja B. Dhal today.

The voting is underway for 4 Lok Sabha seats — Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput — and 28 Assembly segments. By 11 AM today, 23.28% voting was recorded in Odisha. The highest voter turnout was registered from Jeypore Assembly Constituency with 32.25% followed by Nuapada Assembly Constituency with 27.88%.

Also Read

Comments are closed.