Stage set for first phase of twin polls in Odisha tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: The first phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be held in Odisha tomorrow as four parliamentary constituencies– Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, and Koraput– and 28 assembly seats will go to polls.

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements in this regard. Altogether, 62,87,222 voters including 30,97, 527 men and 31,89,060 women will exercise their franchise at 7,303 polling booths in the first phase polls in Odisha. Webcasting would be done in at least 60 per cent of the booths, said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunja Bihari Dhal.

The voters will decide the fate of 37 candidates for four Lok Sabha seats and 243 candidates for 28 Assembly seats.

Koraput, Nabarangpur, Kalahandi, and Berhampur Lok Sabha constituencies have historically seen higher voter turnout.

Around 1,264 polling stations, constituting about 17% of the total booths in the first phase, are critical. Some of these stations are in areas with a history of left-wing extremism. Security forces have been deployed at the stations to avoid untoward incidents.

Although the usual voting hours are from 7 am to 7 pm, adjustments have been made in some areas due to specific circumstances.

Below are details regarding deployment of police in the first phase polls.

❖ Total manpower utilized during election-17000
❖ CAPF deployed-104 Coys
❖ SAP deployed-66 Platoons
Election Related Deployment
❖ Addl SP-29
❖ DSP-57
❖ Inspector-154
❖ SI/ASI-1457
❖ Havildar & Constables-6639
❖ Home Guards & GRs- 5581
❖ Number of Mobile Parties- 600
❖ Inter State Border Check Posts- 51 (CCTV installed)
❖ Intra State Border Check Post-50
❖ Flying Squad Team-210
❖ Static Surveillance Team-195
❖ EVM Strong Rooms at 15 locations have been established, being guarded round the clock by CAPF and SAP in a 2-tiered Security System.

Also Read

Comments are closed.