DMRC submits DPR for Bhubaneswar metro rail to Odisha govt

Bhubaneswar: The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has completed the Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the metro rail project in Odisha capital.

The DMRC submitted the DPR to Chief Secretary PK Jena at a meeting of Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation here today.

The DMRC has prepared the DPR after conducting traffic survey, geo-technical investigation, topo-graphic survey and environmental and social impact assessments, said a press release of Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation today.

According to the DPR, the first phase of the metro rail project will cover Biju Patnaik International Airport (BPIA), Capital Hospital, Sishu Bhawan, Bapuji Nagar, Bhubaneswar Railway Station, Ram Mandir Square, Vani Vihar, Acharya Vihar Square, Jaydev Vihar Square, Xavier Square, Rail Sadan, District Centre, Damana Square, Patia Square, KIIT Square, Nandan Vihar, Raghunathpur, Nanadankanan Zoological Park, Phulapokhari and Trisulia Square in Cuttack.

The Phase-I of the metro rail project will cover 26 km with 20 stations.

Notably, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had sanctioned the metro rail project connecting BPIA in Odisha capital with Trisulia Square in Cuttack on the occasion of Utkal Diwas on April 1.

The project will be extended to Khurda, Puri and other areas in twin cities of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack in subsequent phases.

The state government had engaged DMRC to prepare the DPR.

The Bhubaneswar Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) was notified on August 3. The state government has also appointed the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and General Manager (Administration) for the project.

Also Read

Comments are closed.