BJD sweeps Urban Polls in Bhubaneswar as Sulochana Das elected BMC Mayor

Bhubaneswar: BJD’s Sulochana Das has been elected as the new Mayor of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) as she won the top post of the civic body with a huge margin of 61,143 votes.

Das, who currently serves as the party Spokesperson, won the seat defeating BJP’s Suniti Mund. She is also the State Commissioner for Persons with Disability (PwD). Earlier in June 2017, Das had resigned from Congress citing rift in the party and later joined BJD.

As per the official data, BJD acquired a total 1,74,562 votes for the seat while BJP and Congress garnered  1,13,419 and 11,006 votes, respectively.

After her victory, Das said thanked all people of the capital city for electing her to the post.

“I want to thank people of Bhubaneswar and our Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for giving me this opportunity. Smart and vibrant Bhubaneswar is our first priority and we will work for that,” she said.

Also Read: Odisha ULB Polls: BJD’s Sulochana Das richest BMC Mayor candidate

It is pertinent to mention here that, the state Government had reserved the Mayor post reserved for women in Bhubaneswar and Berhampur Municipal Corporations.

Ruling Biju Janta Dal (BJD) grabbed the Mayor post of Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC) as its candidate Sanghamitra Dalei won the seat with a huge margin. In Berhampur, Sanghamitra Dalei won the Mayor seat with a margin of 20,236 votes.

Out of 67 wards of the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, BJD emerged victorious in 48 wards while BJP won 10 wards. Congress could not open account in the polls. Independent candidates won 9 wards.

Also Read

Comments are closed.